November 4, 2019

V. Ann Lewis Academic Advisor of the Year

Academic advisors are a vital part of student success. Students have an opportunity each year to nominate an undergraduate academic advisor who has had a positive impact on students. The purpose of this award is to recognize excellence in advising across the Mason community. In 2020, the Academic Advisor of the Year award was named after V. Ann Lewis in recognition of Ann’s impact on the academic advising community during her 23 years at Mason.  This award was very dear to Ann, and she took several steps to ensure the award would live on after she retired from Mason. Nominations are accepted annually during the beginning of the Spring semester.

The recipient of this award will embody the following characteristics & skills:

  • Creates an inclusive and welcoming environment for all students 
  • Demonstrates a caring, helpful attitude toward students
  • Provides accurate information regarding university academic requirements
  • Makes themselves available to students, faculty, and staff
  • Makes appropriate referrals
  • Has knowledge of George Mason University regulations, policies, and procedures
  • Supports student development through advising

Rules and Regulations:

Purpose: The Academic Advisor of the Year Award is to promote and acknowledge excellence in undergraduate academic advising at George Mason University.

Eligibility: To be eligible to win the Academic Advisor of the Year Award, you must be a full or part time faculty or staff member who has undergraduate academic advising responsibilities as part of your job description. Peer and graduate advisors are not eligible. Past recipients of the Academic Advisor of the Year Award are not eligible to win the award again for five years from the date it was last awarded.

Selection Process: A committee will be formed consisting of one academic advisor from the Undergraduate Education and two ineligible past award recipient. Decisions will be based on the quality and quantity of the nominations. The committee will choose their top 3 candidates and eligibility will then be verified. If the top candidate is not eligible to win, the committee will move on to their second choice and so on. The winner will then be notified. The award will be presented at the annual Academic Advising Luncheon at the end of March or beginning of April.

Current Award Recipient:

Tahmina Rahman, Academic Advisor – Honors College

AAOY Results Infographic

Award Recipients: